Money To Live

October 17, 2008

Clearing out furniture boxes

Filed under: Uncategorized — by moneytolive @ 5:00 am
Tags:

I had a giant box and let it sit in my living room for three weeks because I did not want to bother taking it outside. Sunday afternoon, it was time. I spent five minutes figuring out how to carry it – the best option was to drag the box on the ground; I could not easily pick it up and hold my keys (and I had no pockets). I walked outside, awkwardly getting the box up a small flight of stairs.

Three adorable, charming, little boys were sitting outside my building and offered to take it to the dumpster for me. (Note: These boys would not like to be called adorable. Each boy had a skateboard, so they probably think of themselves as tough little 6th graders.)

The boys carried the box to the dumpster, and afterward I gave each of them a one dollar bill.

What did the kids think of getting a dollar? At that age, I probably would have been at least mildly excited about it. But, I am so out of touch with youth today. Maybe they realize how little a dollar can buy.

I especially liked giving the boys $1 each because they offered and took the box without being offered anything in return.

What do you think? Is $1 a reasonable amount to give kids in such a situation?

(If only the boys would come back … I have another large, furniture box that needs to make its way to the dumpster)

1 Comment »

  1. I think that considering it was probably pretty easy for them, $1 is fine. It would be another story if that box was full and they struggled. Scott gave some kids $20 for helping him move a very heavy dresser up our narrow apartment stairs. 🙂

    Comment by Shannon — October 17, 2008 @ 10:45 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

