Money To Live

October 14, 2008

Another way to dispute a purchase – small claims court

Filed under: spending — by moneytolive @ 5:00 am
Tags:

Yesterday, I wrote about disputing a purchase through a credit card company. When I old the story to a lawyer friend, she suggested that I could also use small claims court to resolve the dispute.

Here is an interesting article about taking an airline to small claims court over a “weather-related” flight delay.

To me, the effort to take someone to small claims court seems significant. I much prefer going through the credit card company, since all I had to do was fill out some paperwork.

The guy says it only took 4 hours of his time total to handle the claim, but I know it would take me longer. I would spend at least 4 hours reading about small claims court, another 2-3 hours consulting two friends who are lawyers (I would take them out for coffee to ask for the advice), 2-5 hours worrying about it the day before going to court, 1-2 hours going to the courthouse and coming back, and then 1-2 hours thinking about it afterward (that adds up to at least 10 hours).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

