Money To Live

July 22, 2009

The FreedomFiler

Filed under: Uncategorized — by moneytolive @ 5:00 am

This past spring, I made a mistake filing my taxes, which I realized after the filing deadline, of course. With all of my moves in the past year, I lost (or never received due to the wonderful job of the USPS forwarding my mail!) two forms from banks on interest income. I cashed some savings bonds that my grandparents gave me in the 1980′s, on which a significant amount of interest had accrued.

It is easy to remedy most filing snafus using an Amended 1040 Form.

This motivated me to revamp my filing system. I had been using the exact same filing system for the past 9 years. Little thought went into its design, and the last time I pruned my files was 3-4 years ago. I went with the FreedomFiler.

Like every other reviewer of the FreedomFiler, I like the system and recommend it.

  • The tabs look nice – it is very clean, and the tabs are easy to read.
  • It is self-purging. Many documents that I receive today seem important. Though realistically I will never access them again, I am not ready to throw them out. These documents (receipts, bills, miscellaneous Unemployment Commission letters) go into folders that will automatically be purged in two years. In two years, I will not care about most of these pieces of paper. If I still care, I can re-file them somewhere else (i.e., with tax papers for 2009).
  • It has room to grow. Probably/hopefully my filing needs will change in the next few years (i.e., buy a home). Since I do not need any folders for a mortgage/home purchase/ etc., I can leave those out now. It will be very easy to add them in later.
2 Comments »

  1. This looks intriguing. Do you know of any digital / online version of a filing system like this? Anything you recommend?

    Comment by Kat — July 29, 2009 @ 1:37 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

